Martin Luther University Halle-Wittenberg

Dr. Anna-Lena Wolf

Contact

Anna-Lena Wolf

phone: +49 345 55 24 197
fax: +49 345 55 27 603

room 302
Reichardtstraße 11
06114 Halle

Sprechzeiten: nach Vereinbarung
Office hours: By arrangement

postal address:
Anna-Lena Wolf
06099 Halle

Further settings

Login for editors

Anna-Lena Wolf

Short Biographie

Anna-Lena Wolf is a postdoctoral researcher and lecturer at the Institute for Social and Cultural Anthropology at the University of Halle since February 2019. Her research interest is in political and legal anthropology. She is particularly interested in questions of social and economic justice, the relations between social movements and social change, the state and law. Her post-doctoral research project investigates the canon of law in Nigeria in two ways. On the one hand, the project looks at attempts by Nigerian Catholics to establish ecclesiastical courts based on canon law jurisdiction. Proceeding from this empirical example, the project, on the other hand, reconsiders underlying moral principles of secular state law as well as the relationship between religion, the state and law more generally.
Before joining the University of Halle, Anna-Lena Wolf worked as a doctoral researcher and lecturer at the Institute of Social Anthropology in Bern between August 2013 and January 2019. She completed her PhD on the moral economy of Assam’s tea production in October 2018. Her PhD research investigates negotiations about just working and living conditions for tea plantation labourers in Assam in the context of global neoliberal economic transformations. She looks at everyday resistance of tea plantation labourers and more organised protests of trade unions and activists of non-governmental organisations.
Apart from that, Anna-Lena Wolf analysed the implementation and juridification of the human right to development in Indian case law. The outcomes of her study were published in the journal Law and Politics in Africa/Asia/Latin America in 2016.
Anna-Lena Wolf studied social anthropology and South Asian history at the University of Heidelberg, where she graduated with honours in 2012. Her Master thesis on the stigmatisation of persons with mental disabilities in North India was awarded a prize by the South Asian Institute in Heidelberg and published as a book in 2013.

Up

Martin-Luther-Universität Halle-Wittenberg

Dr. Anna-Lena Wolf

Kontakt

Anna-Lena Wolf

Telefon: +49 345 55 24 197
Telefax: +49 345 55 27 603

Raum 302
Reichardtstraße 11
06114 Halle

Sprechzeiten: nach Vereinbarung
Office hours: By arrangement

Postanschrift:
Anna-Lena Wolf
06099 Halle

Weiteres

Login für Redakteure

Anna-Lena Wolf

Kurzbiographie

Anna-Lena Wolf arbeitet seit Februar 2019 als wissenschaftliche Mitarbeiterin am Seminar für Ethnologie am Lehrstuhl von Prof. Dr. Olaf Zenker. Ihre Forschungsinteressen liegen im Bereich der Politik- und Rechtsethnologie, wobei Fragen nach sozialer und wirtschaftlicher Gerechtigkeit sowie die Beziehungen zwischen sozialen Bewegungen und sozialem Wandel, Staat und Recht im Mittelpunkt ihres Interesses stehen. In ihrem Habilitationsprojekt „Reconsidering the Canon of Law in Nigeria“ untersucht Anna-Lena Wolf katholischen Aktivismus, der die Einführung von staatlichen Kirchengerichten in Nigeria anstrebt und im Kontext übergeordneter Fragen nach den moralischen Grundlagen säkularen Staatsrechts sowie der Beziehung von Religion, Staat und Recht steht.
Vor ihrer Forschungs- und Lehrtätigkeit an der Universität Halle arbeitete Anna-Lena Wolf zwischen August 2013 und Januar 2019 als wissenschaftliche Mitarbeiterin am Institut für Sozialanthropologie der Universität Bern. Dort schloss sie ihre Promotion zur moralischen Ökonomie der Teeproduktion im nordostindischen Bundesstaat Assam im Oktober 2018 ab. In ihrer Promotion ging Anna-Lena Wolf Aushandlungen unterschiedlicher Vorstellungen gerechter Arbeits- und Lebensbedingungen für Teeplantagenarbeiter*innen in Assam im Kontext neoliberaler wirtschaftlicher Transformationsprozesse nach und untersuchte sowohl alltägliche Protestformen von Arbeiter*innen als auch institutionalisierten Protest von Gewerkschaften und Aktivist*innen im Kontext von Nichtregierungsorganisationen.
Als Nebenprojekt forschte Anna-Lena Wolf zudem zur Implementierung und Juridifizierung des Menschenrechts auf Entwicklung im indischen Fallrecht. Die Ergebnisse dieser Forschung wurden 2016 in der Fachzeitschrift Verfassung und Recht in Übersee veröffentlicht.
Anna-Lena Wolf studierte Ethnologie und Geschichte Südasiens an der Universität Heidelberg. Ihre Magisterarbeit zur Stigmatisierung von Menschen mit geistiger Behinderung in Nordindien wurde mit dem SAI-Förderpreis ausgezeichnet und 2013 als Buch veröffentlicht.

Zum Seitenanfang